ISSN: 2456-7663
Peer-reviewed Science Magazine

Indian-origin Mathematician Akshay Venkatesh wins the prestigious Fields Medal

Image credit: Rod Searcey
0 83

He is one of four winners of mathematics’ top honour known as the Nobel prize for math.

Akshay Venkatesh, a 36 years old Indian origin mathematician teaching at Stanford University in the United States, is one of the four winners of the prestigious Fields Medal, considered to be the Nobel Prize equivalent for mathematics.


What is the Fields Medal?

The Fields Medal is awarded once every four years to exceptional mathematicians below the age of 40 who have made game-changing contributions to the field. The prize was inaugurated in 1932 at the request of Canadian mathematician John Charles Fields, who ran the 1924 Mathematics Congress in Toronto. Each winner receives a 15,000 Canadian-dollar cash prize. At least two, and preferably four people, are always honored in the award ceremony.

Akshay Venkatesh  (right), Germany’s Peter Scholze (center) and Italy’s Alessio Figalli, pose for a photo during the 2018 International Congress of Mathematicians in Rio de Janeiro. Image courtesy: AP

Venkatesh was awarded this medal for his profound contributions to an exceptionally broad range of subjects in mathematics and strikingly far-reaching conjectures. Besides Venkatesh, the other three winners of this award are Caucher Birkar, a professor of Iranian-Kurdish origin at Cambridge University, Peter Scholze from Germany and Alessio Figalli, an Italian mathematician teaching at ETH Zurich. All winners will receive 15,000 Canadian dollars as a cash prize.


Venkatesh is only the second Australian to win the Fields Medal. Flinders University graduate Terry Tao won the award in 2006.

Source / Journal Reuters The Guardian

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

  • Sign up
Lost your password? Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.
We do not share your personal details with anyone.